Speedometer sensor. A610/GTA/V300

Chat about VENTURI, Delorean & Kitcars

Moderators: PaulyA610, PaulC1959, Test Moderator

User avatar
User

Martin Guard

Rank

Non Member

Posts

64

Joined

Tue Sep 21, 2004 3:08 pm

Location

Bewdley. Worcs.


Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Speedometer sensor. A610/GTA/V300

Postby Martin Guard » Fri Jan 18, 2013 12:09 pm

Help please. My Venturi 300's speedo is running fast by about 10-15%. Not sure if its the sensor or a instrument problem. Thought I'd start with the former. Clee has very kindly helped with the part number and believes it to be a std Renault GTA/610 for UN1 gearbox. Alpine number is 60 00 008 343 .
Does anyone have one I could beg, buy or borrow?
User avatar
User

BIG_MVS

Rank

Club Member

Club Member
Posts

4981

Joined

Wed Jun 30, 2004 9:12 am

Location

Sandbach


Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 56 times

Postby BIG_MVS » Fri Jan 18, 2013 12:20 pm

I have a GTA one Martin. PM or call me and I can sell or let you try it if you want?

Cheers,

Martin - 07768 728980
1994 A610 - Montana Red
Some GTA/A610 Parts For Sale:
http://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/hertzvanhire/ ... pg=&_from=
User avatar
User

PaulyA610

Rank

Club Member

Club Member
Posts

866

Joined

Sat Nov 14, 2009 9:30 pm

Location

Gloucester


Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Postby PaulyA610 » Sat Jan 19, 2013 8:44 pm

Nice to see you on here MJG hope all is well with you bud.
Venturi Atlantique 300
Renault R8
Renault Kangoo 182


GAZ Suspension Dealer,SPAX Dealer, Forge Motorsport Dealer,Alpine ICE Dealer,
User avatar
User

BIG_MVS

Rank

Club Member

Club Member
Posts

4981

Joined

Wed Jun 30, 2004 9:12 am

Location

Sandbach


Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 56 times

Postby BIG_MVS » Thu Jan 24, 2013 11:40 am

Apologies to Martin, I do not have a speed sensor.

Anyone else got one?
1994 A610 - Montana Red
Some GTA/A610 Parts For Sale:
http://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/hertzvanhire/ ... pg=&_from=
User avatar
User

stephendell

Rank

Club Member

Club Member
Posts

6201

Joined

Wed Apr 14, 2004 7:25 pm

Location

London


Has thanked: 26 times
Been thanked: 33 times

Postby stephendell » Wed Mar 06, 2013 10:10 pm

Help please. My Venturi 300's speedo is running fast by about 10-15%. Not sure if its the sensor or a instrument problem. Thought I'd start with the former. Clee has very kindly helped with the part number and believes it to be a std Renault GTA/610 for UN1 gearbox. Alpine number is 60 00 008 343 .
Does anyone have one I could beg, buy or borrow?


It's not a GTA/A610 item. It is from a Renault Safrane. We supplied one for Mike Hudson's car and it was around £150 from Renault with some discount. John should have the part number.
Trafic, Twingo GT, Vel Satis Turbo x 2, Clio V6 Proto Ph2, Vel Satis 3.5, Avantime, Spider, Alpine A610, GTA Atmo x 4, GTA Turbo x 3, R21 Turbo GpN, R5 Gordini Turbo Mid Engine, Alpine A110, Yellow Smart
User avatar
User

BIG_MVS

Rank

Club Member

Club Member
Posts

4981

Joined

Wed Jun 30, 2004 9:12 am

Location

Sandbach


Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 56 times

Postby BIG_MVS » Sun Mar 17, 2013 7:44 pm

I did find this from another "clearout" this weekend:

Image

By the look of it you need a Venturi specific part though Martin?
1994 A610 - Montana Red
Some GTA/A610 Parts For Sale:
http://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/hertzvanhire/ ... pg=&_from=
User avatar
User

clee

Rank

Club Member

Club Member
Posts

9980

Joined

Fri May 28, 2004 11:58 am

Location

Derbyshire


Has thanked: 37 times
Been thanked: 75 times

Postby clee » Mon Mar 18, 2013 1:54 pm

that a reverse light switch .
Vent/Saf rather than Alp ...would assume it'll be down to the plug connection rather than the actual sensor ??
User avatar
User

JohnC

Rank

Club Member

Club Member
Posts

2041

Joined

Sun Dec 02, 2007 6:19 pm

Location

Jersey C.I.


Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 65 times

Re: Speedometer sensor. A610/GTA/V300

Postby JohnC » Mon Mar 18, 2013 4:05 pm

Martin Guard wrote:My Venturi 300's speedo is running fast by about 10-15%. Not sure if its the sensor or a instrument problem.

This fault is very unlikely to be the sensor its self, as there is a reading albeit a bit high. All the sensor does is create a pulse train as the toothed wheel passes in front of it.
There is a set number of teeth which passes the sensor per rotation of the off side drive shaft. The speedo`s circuit board then calculated the teeth counted against the rolling distance of the wheel and produces a voltage which increases with speed which is applied to the speedo.
Now if it is over reading then one can look to the speed`o electronics, or the rolling distance of one rotation of the wheel...... the amount of teeth on the toothed wheel will not change...... My initial thoughts would be to ask if after sale wheels, or different tyres have been fitted (effectively reducing the diameter of the wheel). If answer to those two points is NO.... then I would suggest the speedo`s driver circuit board has gone faulty.
1990 GTA Atmo, 2003 Jaguar X type 2.5SE Auto, 2002 Daihatsu Sirion 1.3SE
User avatar
User

Martin Guard

Rank

Non Member

Posts

64

Joined

Tue Sep 21, 2004 3:08 pm

Location

Bewdley. Worcs.


Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Speedometer sensor. A610/GTA/V300

Postby Martin Guard » Sun Apr 13, 2014 11:53 am

After a couple of years fiff-faffing about :crazy and worrying :? about sensors and the price of a new speedometer I have solved the problem .....and for next to nothing. Woohoo!
Thanks to Pauly for putting me on the right track... VDO speedos are adjustable.
After some research I find its actually rather simple (I do simple rather well).....
Pressing the Trip Reset button whilst turning on the ignition/engine gives a display of Pulse, Adjust, or Autocl. Release the button when it reads Autocl. The word Button should appear. Pressing it again gives the flashing word Start. Then, using my Garmin and Phone tripmeters as measuring references, drive a mile and press the button. Check the speedo reading against these devices.... et voila!
MJG :D
A110 Berlinette. Venturi Atlantique 300
User avatar
User

PaulyA610

Rank

Club Member

Club Member
Posts

866

Joined

Sat Nov 14, 2009 9:30 pm

Location

Gloucester


Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Speedometer sensor. A610/GTA/V300

Postby PaulyA610 » Sun Apr 13, 2014 2:49 pm

Well done Martin, glad I was some use for this. The Venturi is all up together now then?
Venturi Atlantique 300
Renault R8
Renault Kangoo 182


GAZ Suspension Dealer,SPAX Dealer, Forge Motorsport Dealer,Alpine ICE Dealer,
User avatar
User

simonsays74

Rank

Non Member

Posts

1296

Joined

Thu Apr 15, 2004 10:12 pm

Location

Belfast (££££ Zone!!)


Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Speedometer sensor. A610/GTA/V300

Postby simonsays74 » Wed May 07, 2014 8:02 pm

LIKE.


  • Advertisement

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Powered by phpBB ® | Renault' and 'Alpine' are trademarks of Renault S.A.S. or its subsidiaries and are used with kind permission of Renault France