Relays....

Renault & Alpine General Discussion

Moderators: BIG_MVS, phildini, Test Moderator, Alpineandy

User avatar
User

Alpine Tom

Rank

Club Member

Club Member
Posts

98

Joined

Fri Dec 04, 2015 9:30 pm

Location

Sheffield


Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Relays....

Postby Alpine Tom » Wed Jan 18, 2017 6:48 pm

Hi all,
I had some time today so I took another look, cleaned the connections to the indicator switch etc. But nothing new there, then I checked the hazards and this happened.....
They are identical to the indicators in that they give one flash when you 1st turn them on and then nothing; but when the ignition is off they work perfectly!

Is this still a relay problem? Can it be fixed?

As ever your help is appreciated

Thanks
Tom
GTA roulette all in on a blue one!
User avatar
User

Alpine Tom

Rank

Club Member

Club Member
Posts

98

Joined

Fri Dec 04, 2015 9:30 pm

Location

Sheffield


Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Relays....

Postby Alpine Tom » Sun Feb 05, 2017 11:26 pm

Ok so I think this one is a problem.

Looking at the diagram I've tested all the inputs and found them to be what they should be. Except for some reason I am getting a switched live (ignition on) from the hazards tell tale and the hazard switch!!! If I remove both of those and use a known earth to activate the hazards they work perfectly.

Unfortunately the left and right indicators can't be operated in the same way so I fear there's some damage to the relay.

Does any one know why this switch live fault is occurring.... could it be from power to the binical/warning lights etc.

And is there a club link to a comprehensive wiring diagram anywhere?

Thanks in advance Tom
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
GTA roulette all in on a blue one!
User avatar
User

clee

Rank

Club Member

Club Member
Posts

10011

Joined

Fri May 28, 2004 11:58 am

Location

Derbyshire


Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 76 times

Re: Relays....

Postby clee » Mon Feb 06, 2017 7:51 am

I have wiring diagrams.
The hazard switch is mounted on a board with the others in that row .Possibly you have a fault on the board.The switches are negative switching .I have lots of spares in a box somewhere .If you want to pop in and nick some bits to test then just shout .
User avatar
User

stephendell

Rank

Club Member

Club Member
Posts

6260

Joined

Wed Apr 14, 2004 7:25 pm

Location

London


Has thanked: 26 times
Been thanked: 35 times

Re: Relays....

Postby stephendell » Mon Feb 06, 2017 8:01 pm

60 01 018 629 8740 CENTRALE CLIGNOTANTE 95.56

Was also on the latest Dieppe parts run list
Trafic, Twingo GT, Vel Satis Turbo x 2, Clio V6 Proto Ph2, Vel Satis 3.5, Avantime, Spider, Alpine A610, GTA Atmo x 4, GTA Turbo x 3, R21 Turbo GpN, R5 Gordini Turbo Mid Engine, Alpine A110, Yellow Smart
User avatar
User

Alpine Tom

Rank

Club Member

Club Member
Posts

98

Joined

Fri Dec 04, 2015 9:30 pm

Location

Sheffield


Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Relays....

Postby Alpine Tom » Mon Feb 06, 2017 8:58 pm

Hi,

I thought that would help too, so I disconnected that bank of switches with the same result so I went as far as disconnecting both ends of the binical and same result :down

Everything else works perfectly..... don't understand it as they worked fine before I took the dash apart the 1st time...... especially when I think the indicators tell tale and hazard switch lines were switched at the relay terminals originally too.

Could be time for a visit Lee or should I get a local auto elec? Either way do you have any front wheel bearings and track rod ends in? They're also on my winter repaired list :)
GTA roulette all in on a blue one!
User avatar
User

clee

Rank

Club Member

Club Member
Posts

10011

Joined

Fri May 28, 2004 11:58 am

Location

Derbyshire


Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 76 times

Re: Relays....

Postby clee » Tue Feb 07, 2017 7:54 am

Bearings I have but tre need to be ordered in.
If it all worked before you had it apart then are you sure all the multiplugs are in properly and tight ? I'd check again as they can/will go in one pin out but look correct .
User avatar
User

simontaylor

Rank

Club Member

Club Member
Posts

5097

Joined

Thu Apr 15, 2004 12:33 pm

Location

Fleet, Hampshire


Has thanked: 26 times
Been thanked: 32 times

Re: Relays....

Postby simontaylor » Tue Feb 07, 2017 9:28 am

Yes, in the GTA is is very easy to make dash connections and be 1 pin out, without easily noticing.
1986 : '86 GTA v6 turbo, with Adaptronic ECU
Firsts at
2007 : Gurston Down & RAOC Champion
2008 : Rushmoor & Eelmoor & ACSMC Hillclimb class Champion
2009 : Longcross & Eelmoor
2010 : Crystal Palace & Eelmoor
2016 : Rushmoor & 5th O/A
User avatar
User

pgoldsmith

Rank

Club Member

Club Member
Posts

889

Joined

Tue Jul 20, 2004 12:14 pm

Location

West Moors, Dorset


Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Relays....

Postby pgoldsmith » Tue Feb 07, 2017 1:12 pm

And is there a club link to a comprehensive wiring diagram anywhere?


I think we all have our own stash of information, (for instance, I have all the wiring diagrams, exploded car parts, engine manual, gearbox manual all in electronic format, plus the workshop manual and aftermarket information sheets/fixes) but it would be good to make this available on the website.
Stephen/Vince , can this be done or perhaps it's already been done ??
Or does this contravene copyright ?
GTA Turbo 1991 - Stratos blue
no avatar
User

purches graeme

Rank

Club Member

Club Member
Posts

42

Joined

Wed Nov 19, 2014 3:50 am

Location

Tauranga New Zealand


Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Relays....

Postby purches graeme » Tue Feb 07, 2017 7:25 pm

I have dealt with Simon over several years not for all of these types of parts.
Although parts may not be listed on their website, they can often locate them.
For example, my '90 D500 fuel level system varies from the earlier cars. Aside from a plug in (like a relay) ccmputer chip housed in the left wing behind the trafficator, there is another timer relay fitted with the other relays on the RHS lower facia. My computer wouldn't work due to a faulty fuel level feed, and the sender checked out OK. So I opened both of mine up and the unit under the left wing and found it had got wet and was corroded beyond repair. Andreas at Simon was heading to Alpine on a buying trip, and he bought one back and got it off to me. He has been great to deal with. The other relay was also dicy, but I managed to clean it all up so everything works fine now.
User avatar
User

jonc

Rank

Club Member

Club Member
Posts

367

Joined

Mon Jul 16, 2007 11:08 am

Location

Oxfordshire


Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Relays....

Postby jonc » Wed Feb 08, 2017 10:34 am

Yep - I had an iffy indicator relay and found that you can open it up and give it a clean and then bench-test it. That seemed to help mine
Previous


  • Advertisement

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

Powered by phpBB ® | Renault' and 'Alpine' are trademarks of Renault S.A.S. or its subsidiaries and are used with kind permission of Renault France