Temperature sensor

Renault & Alpine General Discussion

Moderators: BIG_MVS, phildini, Test Moderator, Alpineandy

User avatar
User

pgoldsmith

Rank

Club Member

Club Member
Posts

889

Joined

Tue Jul 20, 2004 12:14 pm

Location

West Moors, Dorset


Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Temperature sensor

Postby pgoldsmith » Sun Jan 08, 2017 5:04 pm

Before I descend on my local Renault dealer, can anyone advise if the Temp Sensor (LHS - the connected to the ECU) is still available?
GTA Turbo 1991 - Stratos blue
User avatar
User

clee

Rank

Club Member

Club Member
Posts

10010

Joined

Fri May 28, 2004 11:58 am

Location

Derbyshire


Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 76 times

Re: Temperature sensor

Postby clee » Sun Jan 08, 2017 5:29 pm

NLA
Simon Auto do an alternative using another sensor and adapter for thread.Comes with correct plug added as well.You could DIY all this but tbh its not worth the hassle and likely to cost just as much .
User avatar
User

pgoldsmith

Rank

Club Member

Club Member
Posts

889

Joined

Tue Jul 20, 2004 12:14 pm

Location

West Moors, Dorset


Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Temperature sensor

Postby pgoldsmith » Mon Jan 09, 2017 7:56 pm

Thanks Lee.

Simon Auto want 79 EUR + tax + carriage :(

May take off the old one and see if it can be fixed - after all, it's just a thermistor.

Do we know what the spec should be; resistance when cold and hot ?
GTA Turbo 1991 - Stratos blue
User avatar
User

clee

Rank

Club Member

Club Member
Posts

10010

Joined

Fri May 28, 2004 11:58 am

Location

Derbyshire


Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 76 times

Re: Temperature sensor

Postby clee » Mon Jan 09, 2017 9:06 pm

Yes...it's all on here somewhere.
no avatar
User

MFaulks

Rank

Club Member

Club Member
Posts

1562

Joined

Sun Sep 28, 2008 4:25 pm


Has thanked: 40 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: Temperature sensor

Postby MFaulks » Tue Jan 10, 2017 1:06 am

pgoldsmith wrote:Simon Auto want 79 EUR + tax + carriage :(

May take off the old one and see if it can be fixed - after all, it's just a thermistor.

Do we know what the spec should be; resistance when cold and hot ?


Having said that, it is plug and play and quite well made, and takes your problem away... actually the OE part is rather nice ceramic substrate and thick film sense element inside the can... it has quite a fast response given it is thermally potted with likely Beryllium or similar compound given the age, so wouldn't mess with it... I have opened them up, and gone ok moving on swiftly... Having said the the SA one works fine. Don't think I would trying to make something up, if it goes open, the fuel setting goes to default coefficient in the map....
... A diamond is only a piece of coal that did well under pressure... PRV afflicted, may be I need to squeeze harder!!!!

https://www.facebook.com/maftecfaulks
User avatar
User

clee

Rank

Club Member

Club Member
Posts

10010

Joined

Fri May 28, 2004 11:58 am

Location

Derbyshire


Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 76 times

Re: Temperature sensor

Postby clee » Tue Jan 10, 2017 6:50 pm

79 euro includes vat .
As I said by the time you've made an adapter,modded the plug to original type it's just not worth the hassle ...+ it's a pretty important sensor .
User avatar
User

pgoldsmith

Rank

Club Member

Club Member
Posts

889

Joined

Tue Jul 20, 2004 12:14 pm

Location

West Moors, Dorset


Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Temperature sensor

Postby pgoldsmith » Mon Jan 16, 2017 8:22 pm

Thanks all.

Took your advice and bought one from Simon Auto. It arrived today.
As you say, it looks a good replacement - even at 79 EUR + shipping.
I will take a look at the old one and pass it to one of my electronic bods at work to see if it's possible to fix.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
GTA Turbo 1991 - Stratos blue
User avatar
User

mettersl

Rank

Club Member

Club Member
Posts

1517

Joined

Sat Nov 13, 2004 12:46 pm

Location

Saffron Walden- North Essex


Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: Temperature sensor

Postby mettersl » Mon Jan 16, 2017 8:53 pm

That looks like the Safrane /laguna/a610 part with a cable made up to fit the GTA loom.
They were still available from Renault 5 or so years ago, it's just the GTA wiring that makes it special. I know because it's also listed for the 610...but doesn't fit, one of the mechanics looked at the 610 part in my hand and recognised it
User avatar
User

clee

Rank

Club Member

Club Member
Posts

10010

Joined

Fri May 28, 2004 11:58 am

Location

Derbyshire


Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 76 times

Re: Temperature sensor

Postby clee » Mon Jan 16, 2017 9:25 pm

No, it's the thread,and calibration that makes it 'special' ...as well as the plug .


  • Advertisement

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Dave Williams and 7 guests

Powered by phpBB ® | Renault' and 'Alpine' are trademarks of Renault S.A.S. or its subsidiaries and are used with kind permission of Renault France