XR25 Diagnostic cable?

Renault & Alpine General Discussion

Moderators: eastlmark, phildini, BIG_MVS, Alpineandy, Test Moderator

User avatar
User

r5gordini

Rank

Club Member

Club Member
Posts

257

Joined

Wed Nov 18, 2015 5:13 pm


Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 9 times

XR25 Diagnostic cable?

Postby r5gordini » Fri Dec 04, 2015 10:22 am

Hi All,

Is this the right cable I need to be able to connect to a PC to do the same as the XR25 unit? A610 Turbo.

http://boutique.fenixecu.com/diagnostiq ... 2-usb.html
User avatar
User

BIG_MVS

Rank

Club Member

Club Member
Posts

5231

Joined

Wed Jun 30, 2004 9:12 am

Location

Sandbach


Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 68 times

Re: XR25 Diagnostic cable?

Postby BIG_MVS » Fri Dec 04, 2015 10:42 am

Looks promising, not sure what software you can use to extract data though.

Mr Faulks is your man for that.
1994 A610 - Montana Red
Some GTA/A610 Parts For Sale:
http://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/hertzvanhire/ ... pg=&_from=
User avatar
User

darrenbiggs

Rank

Club Member

Club Member
Posts

1396

Joined

Thu Apr 29, 2004 1:03 pm

Location

Horley - Nr Gatwick


Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 33 times

Re: XR25 Diagnostic cable?

Postby darrenbiggs » Fri Dec 04, 2015 11:16 am

It's pretty primitive if you're using it for fault diagnosis. You'll see if something's not working (such as the TDC sensor) but if it's something like a faulty coilpack I might be wrong, but I don't think you'd get a code.
I'm just here for the gasoline.
User avatar
User

jonc

Rank

Club Member

Club Member
Posts

374

Joined

Mon Jul 16, 2007 11:08 am

Location

Oxfordshire


Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: XR25 Diagnostic cable?

Postby jonc » Fri Dec 04, 2015 7:07 pm

I'd be really interested to hear how you get on if you do go for this.

As Darren says, it's pretty primitive, though. Although the connector has something like 9+ pins, there's only about 3 that are wired up - as a Renault tech pointed out to me. Having said that, it was [finally!] thanks to the XR-25 that poor starting on my GTA was down to a dodgy cold-start sensor. So, presumably, you must be able to get a reasonable bunch of info about the sensors etc.

Jon
User avatar
User

darrenbiggs

Rank

Club Member

Club Member
Posts

1396

Joined

Thu Apr 29, 2004 1:03 pm

Location

Horley - Nr Gatwick


Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 33 times

Re: XR25 Diagnostic cable?

Postby darrenbiggs » Fri Dec 04, 2015 7:19 pm

You do get info on the sensors Jon, including knock detection and others. So you'll know if one of those is out of range, but say a dodgy coilpack or dizzy I don't think will show.

So good for testing that all is well, but not the definitive answer for debugging a non-starter.... as in it can't diagnose the answer for the fuel pump relay strap-on question :wtf

DavidG used to have a hand-held equivalent that did 90% of the XR25 stuff that he used to rent out.
I'm just here for the gasoline.
User avatar
User

clee

Rank

Non Member

Posts

10434

Joined

Fri May 28, 2004 11:58 am

Location

Derbyshire


Has thanked: 53 times
Been thanked: 95 times

Re: XR25 Diagnostic cable?

Postby clee » Fri Dec 04, 2015 7:23 pm

About as much use as tits on a boar.
User avatar
User

darrenbiggs

Rank

Club Member

Club Member
Posts

1396

Joined

Thu Apr 29, 2004 1:03 pm

Location

Horley - Nr Gatwick


Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 33 times

Re: XR25 Diagnostic cable?

Postby darrenbiggs » Fri Dec 04, 2015 7:37 pm

About as much use as tits on a boar.


Thanks George! "Don't talk to me about sophisticayshun, luv, ah've BEEN ta Leeds"

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jY4tD2Hbg_A

Image
I'm just here for the gasoline.
User avatar
User

BIG_MVS

Rank

Club Member

Club Member
Posts

5231

Joined

Wed Jun 30, 2004 9:12 am

Location

Sandbach


Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 68 times

Re: XR25 Diagnostic cable?

Postby BIG_MVS » Fri Dec 04, 2015 8:18 pm

/\ /\ One of my all time favourite sketches.

"I've 2 words to say about that... Shite" and what's the other one? "Shite"
1994 A610 - Montana Red
Some GTA/A610 Parts For Sale:
http://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/hertzvanhire/ ... pg=&_from=
User avatar
User

mettersl

Rank

Club Member

Club Member
Posts

1758

Joined

Sat Nov 13, 2004 12:46 pm

Location

Saffron Walden- North Essex


Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 32 times

Re: XR25 Diagnostic cable?

Postby mettersl » Fri Dec 04, 2015 8:31 pm

Sykes Pickavent ACR system, a Renault pod (V3 works on a610) and the right cable will do it...(no pc connection through) , but you can see the readings the ecu is seeing for the sensors, you have to decide if they are real. Doesn't work on a le mans for some reason, but Ok on GTA turbo and A610. Speedo output pants on an A610...but everything else works.
On my a610 the air temperature sensor was faulty when bought.
Ebay is a good source, the prices have fallen recently, you should get one for not too much.
lead is £2:50 today, pod £10 but no sensibly priced handsets...you should get one for 40-50.

I have one but I'm north Essex/Cambs border. PM me if you are near and want to use it. Someone else has one ( Phildini?)

David used to rent his one out...!

Cheers
Lee
User avatar
User

RED21

Rank

Non Member

Posts

372

Joined

Wed Jan 19, 2005 11:43 pm

Location

New Forest


Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: XR25 Diagnostic cable?

Postby RED21 » Fri Dec 04, 2015 10:26 pm

I brought the lead & software a few years ago but never managed to get it to work for what ever reason.
It never bothered me though as I have two XR25s :shhh
no avatar
User

MFaulks

Rank

Non Member

Posts

1581

Joined

Sun Sep 28, 2008 4:25 pm


Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 26 times

Re: XR25 Diagnostic cable?

Postby MFaulks » Sun Dec 06, 2015 10:52 am

.
Last edited by MFaulks on Fri Jun 10, 2016 9:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
... A diamond is only a piece of coal that did well under pressure... PRV afflicted, may be I need to squeeze harder!!!!

https://www.facebook.com/maftecfaulks
User avatar
User

clee

Rank

Non Member

Posts

10434

Joined

Fri May 28, 2004 11:58 am

Location

Derbyshire


Has thanked: 53 times
Been thanked: 95 times

Re: XR25 Diagnostic cable?

Postby clee » Sun Dec 06, 2015 10:59 am

Tits,boar then as I said .My diagnostic tool is ears,eyes,dvm , a box full of known good sensors and a sense of humour
no avatar
User

renaultmad

Rank

Non Member

Posts

1

Joined

Thu Mar 08, 2018 5:33 am


Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: XR25 Diagnostic cable?

Postby renaultmad » Thu Mar 08, 2018 5:45 am

RED21 wrote:I brought the lead & software a few years ago but never managed to get it to work for what ever reason.
It never bothered me though as I have two XR25s :shhh


Hi Red21
Can your XR25 reset the oil ageing counter on a Scenic 1 (2000-2002) DP0 auto transmission gearbox? - If so, Where could one buy one?
User avatar
User

RED21

Rank

Non Member

Posts

372

Joined

Wed Jan 19, 2005 11:43 pm

Location

New Forest


Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: XR25 Diagnostic cable?

Postby RED21 » Mon Mar 12, 2018 10:14 pm

renaultmad wrote:
RED21 wrote:I brought the lead & software a few years ago but never managed to get it to work for what ever reason.
It never bothered me though as I have two XR25s :shhh


Hi Red21
Can your XR25 reset the oil ageing counter on a Scenic 1 (2000-2002) DP0 auto transmission gearbox? - If so, Where could one buy one?

I am sure the Scenic 1 DP0 oil reset was via Clip only.


  • Advertisement

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests

Powered by phpBB ® | Renault' and 'Alpine' are trademarks of Renault S.A.S. or its subsidiaries and are used with kind permission of Renault France
cron