speedometer sensor unit

Renault & Alpine General Discussion

Moderators: eastlmark, phildini, BIG_MVS, Alpineandy, Test Moderator

no avatar
User

jagcat12

Rank

Club Member

Club Member
Posts

94

Joined

Mon Dec 15, 2014 10:01 pm


Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

speedometer sensor unit

Postby jagcat12 » Thu Nov 09, 2017 11:24 am

Does anyone know the part number for the speedometer sensor for the A610


Thanks Dave g
User avatar
User

The Saint

Rank

Administrator

Posts

1133

Joined

Thu Sep 08, 2011 11:55 am

Location

Rugby Warwickshire


Has thanked: 57 times
Been thanked: 45 times

Re: speedometer sensor unit

Postby The Saint » Thu Nov 09, 2017 5:57 pm

which part??? The gearbox end or the dash end? As I have my old dash pod still, if any parts are needed??
The Saint.
Blue A610,
Black Smart Roadster.
SmartEDElectric Drive
User avatar
User

mettersl

Rank

Club Member

Club Member
Posts

1754

Joined

Sat Nov 13, 2004 12:46 pm

Location

Saffron Walden- North Essex


Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 32 times

Re: speedometer sensor unit

Postby mettersl » Thu Nov 09, 2017 6:00 pm

Vince, I don't suppose the LCD was any good on the old one...looking for another one now....shouldn't have sold my spare if Id knows Id have a 610 again...
User avatar
User

The Saint

Rank

Administrator

Posts

1133

Joined

Thu Sep 08, 2011 11:55 am

Location

Rugby Warwickshire


Has thanked: 57 times
Been thanked: 45 times

Re: speedometer sensor unit

Postby The Saint » Thu Nov 09, 2017 6:08 pm

Nope that is the reason why I changed the whole thing BUT I do have a 21 Turbo display that is perfect???
The rest of the Dash pod is fine except the mileage would need adjusting.... I decided to buy a new one as the car had a full rebuild so wanted to start a zero... I am that sad I even left the protective film on the clock cover so not to scratch it...!!
The Saint.
Blue A610,
Black Smart Roadster.
SmartEDElectric Drive
no avatar
User

jagcat12

Rank

Club Member

Club Member
Posts

94

Joined

Mon Dec 15, 2014 10:01 pm


Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: speedometer sensor unit

Postby jagcat12 » Thu Nov 09, 2017 7:15 pm

Hi

my speedo has packed up and am working from the sensor on the gear box forward so that is the one I want.
your spare head unit could be called for later


Dave g
User avatar
User

mettersl

Rank

Club Member

Club Member
Posts

1754

Joined

Sat Nov 13, 2004 12:46 pm

Location

Saffron Walden- North Essex


Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 32 times

Re: speedometer sensor unit

Postby mettersl » Thu Nov 09, 2017 8:11 pm

Well if you decide to part with the ren 21 LCD, I'd be very happy to buy it (back??)

Cheers

Lee
User avatar
User

JohnC

Rank

Club Member

Club Member
Posts

2164

Joined

Sun Dec 02, 2007 6:19 pm

Location

Jersey C.I.


Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 79 times

Re: speedometer sensor unit

Postby JohnC » Thu Nov 09, 2017 8:28 pm

jagcat12 wrote:Does anyone know the part number for the speedometer sensor for the A610

Dave........ I do have a part number for the speedo sensor ..... 77 00 779 811 ..... but I would not buy one just to try, as they are very expensive ...... over £120 from Renault, or Simon Auto also has them at 259 euros + P&P.
The other problem is that they are fitted with a very short lead to a 3 pin connector, but the service manual does not show a 3 pin connector close to the sensor, but it implies the lead goes straight to the multi pin connector RQ towards the back of the engine bay, so unless someone can inform us if in fact there is a 3 pin connector on a 610 .... Clee ??? .... then a new one would have to be spliced in.
However, I would not suspect the sensor until I was able to check the resistance across it with a DVM on the Ohms range, and if it were OK the reading should be somewhere around 1.8 to 2.3 ohms. If you can confirm the resistance is between those resistances, I would be happy with the sensor.
John
1990 GTA Atmo, 2003 Jaguar X type 2.5SE Auto, 2018 Kia Picanto GT-Line-S 1.25
User avatar
User

mettersl

Rank

Club Member

Club Member
Posts

1754

Joined

Sat Nov 13, 2004 12:46 pm

Location

Saffron Walden- North Essex


Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 32 times

Re: speedometer sensor unit

Postby mettersl » Fri Nov 10, 2017 12:36 am

John,
There is a 3 way connector on my 610, down low on the subframe near the wishbone, I guess that’s it.
Documentation on these cars is....approximate, I find,
But I’m with you, check the wiring before replacing anything.
Cheers
Lee
User avatar
User

JohnC

Rank

Club Member

Club Member
Posts

2164

Joined

Sun Dec 02, 2007 6:19 pm

Location

Jersey C.I.


Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 79 times

Re: speedometer sensor unit

Postby JohnC » Fri Nov 10, 2017 10:09 am

Hi Lee,

Thanks for that info ..... that should make it easier for Dave to check out the sensor.
For Dave's info, the DVM reading should be taken between the center pin and one other. Clean the pins ONLY with Servisol ...... no abrasives, as I notice that all the connector pins for this circuit between the sensor and the speedo are Gold plated..... Perhaps that is why the sensor is so expensive.
But, Lee, you are right about the 610 manuals .... I much prefer working with the GTA manuals than the 610 ones.
Cheers
John
1990 GTA Atmo, 2003 Jaguar X type 2.5SE Auto, 2018 Kia Picanto GT-Line-S 1.25
no avatar
User

jagcat12

Rank

Club Member

Club Member
Posts

94

Joined

Mon Dec 15, 2014 10:01 pm


Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: speedometer sensor unit

Postby jagcat12 » Fri Nov 10, 2017 3:20 pm

thanks to all ,
You have answered the next question where is the sensor
Will teat when I get the time and let you know


Thanks again Dave g


  • Advertisement

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests

Powered by phpBB ® | Renault' and 'Alpine' are trademarks of Renault S.A.S. or its subsidiaries and are used with kind permission of Renault France