Atmo gauges on turbo

Renault & Alpine General Discussion

Moderators: eastlmark, phildini, BIG_MVS, Test Moderator, Alpineandy

no avatar
User

claudiu_rem

Rank

Club Member

Club Member
Posts

58

Joined

Fri Dec 08, 2017 1:47 pm


Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Atmo gauges on turbo

Postby claudiu_rem » Mon Sep 17, 2018 8:28 pm

Hello everyone again. It seems I can’t make my speedo to work. I’ve changed the speedo motor, gearbox sensor, checked the wires, etc. I’m guessing that my gauges are faulty. I found a pair of gauges on ebay from an atmo. Do they fit on my 89 turbo? I would like to take all the speedo indicator and mount it on my gauges. Cheers
User avatar
User

stephendell

Rank

Club Member

Club Member
Posts

6757

Joined

Wed Apr 14, 2004 7:25 pm

Location

London


Has thanked: 50 times
Been thanked: 62 times

Re: Atmo gauges on turbo

Postby stephendell » Tue Sep 18, 2018 12:59 am

Atmo speedo and rev counter is the same as turbo just the turbo gauge is missing from the instrument cluster.

I have new turbo and atmo instrument clusters in stock.
Trafic, Twingo GT, Vel Satis Turbo x 2, Clio V6 Proto Ph2, Vel Satis 3.5, Avantime, Alpine A610, GTA Atmo x 3, GTA Turbo x 3, R5 Gordini Turbo Mid Engine, Alpine A310 4cyl, Alpine A110, Yellow Smart
no avatar
User

purches graeme

Rank

Club Member

Club Member
Posts

52

Joined

Wed Nov 19, 2014 3:50 am

Location

Tauranga New Zealand


Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Atmo gauges on turbo

Postby purches graeme » Tue Sep 18, 2018 7:37 am

There is a large multi-pin plug and socket up beside the steering column, RHS from memory, and easy to get at. Try cleaning the plug and socket connections with a good contact cleaner. Removing four screws on the panel under the steering column with allow you to remove drop the panel and get in to find the large plug/socket.
Also, do the same to the square multi-pin plug/socket on the left hand side of the instrument nacelle, and the sockets that plug into the pins on the little computer pc board, mounted on the rhs.
You will need to take the steering wheel off to split the nacelle cover and get to the speedo/tacho assembly.
This has worked for me in the past.
In the '80 they seemed to use standard electrical connectors, designed for 12v and a bit of current to help keep the connections sound. But the very low currents in the case of the speedo, tack and computer board etc are not enough to do that.
Good hunting!!
no avatar
User

claudiu_rem

Rank

Club Member

Club Member
Posts

58

Joined

Fri Dec 08, 2017 1:47 pm


Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Atmo gauges on turbo

Postby claudiu_rem » Tue Sep 18, 2018 10:37 am

I cleaned all the pins and electrical connections when I moved the steering wheel from rhd to lhd. What’s the price for the turbo gauge cluster?
no avatar
User

Murray Shaw

Rank

Non Member

Posts

12

Joined

Tue Nov 27, 2007 12:31 am

Location

North Auckland New Zealand


Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Atmo gauges on turbo

Postby Murray Shaw » Wed Sep 19, 2018 12:01 am

Check when ordering that you get Km/h not MPH version as well as Turbo/Atmo New is best
:Cheer


  • Advertisement

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 16 guests

Powered by phpBB ® | Renault' and 'Alpine' are trademarks of Renault S.A.S. or its subsidiaries and are used with kind permission of Renault France